Forums 📚 Book Club Friends Future potential picks for 2024

  • Future potential picks for 2024

    Posted by Stacy on December 3, 2023 at 3:52 PM

    STACY PROPOSED PICK FOR APRIL: How to End a Love Story by Yulin Kuang (April 2, 2024) https://amzn.to/3uObqik
    The brilliant contemporary romance novel debut from Yulin Kuang, the acclaimed screenwriter of Emily Henry’s People We Meet on Vacation and director of the forthcoming Beach Read feature film.

    OPTIONS TO CHOOSE FROM, and comment to add that interests you!

    Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman https://amzn.to/3R4HgPl
    Soon to be a movie produced by Reese Witherspoon, the smart, warm, and uplifting story of an out-of-the-ordinary heroine whose deadpan weirdness and unconscious wit make for an irresistible journey as she realizes the only way to survive is to open your heart.

    This Bird Has Flown: A Novel by Susanna Hoffs Amazon editor’s pick https://amzn.to/3Gssmh5
    A delightfully funny and steamy debut novel about music, fate, redemption, and love from beloved songwriter and Bangles co-founder Susanna Hoffs that is “part British romcom, part Jane Eyre, and one hundred percent enjoyable

    One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid https://amzn.to/47FjDnK
    A heartwrenching tale asks if it’s possible to have multiple soul mates. Now a major film! Best Book Awards

    Funny Story by Emily Henry (April 2024) https://amzn.to/3GryB4J
    A shimmering, joyful new novel about a pair of opposites with the wrong thing in common, from #1 New York Times bestselling author.

    Part of Your World (and Yours Truly) by Abby Jimenez Goodreads Choice Award https://amzn.to/3RoNA5Q
    A refreshingly modern fairy tale perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Emily Henry – Toni read and recommended

    The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood (1 of 3) https://amzn.to/4836lkP Award winner
    When a fake relationship between scientists meets the irresistible force of attraction, it throws one woman’s carefully calculated theories on love into chaos.

    Love in the Time of Serial Killers by Alicia Thompson https://amzn.to/46GKvlN
    One of Cosmopolitan’s Best Romance Novels Ever; Turns out that reading nothing but true crime isn’t exactly conducive to modern dating—and one woman is going to have to learn how to give love a chance when she’s used to suspecting the worst.

    Once and Future Witches by Alix Harrow https://amzn.to/484gihT
    In the late 1800s, three sisters use witchcraft to change the course of history in this powerful novel of magic, family, and the suffragette movement.

    Did You Hear about Kitty Karr by Crystal Smith Paul Goodread Choice Award & Reese’s Club https://amzn.to/3uzQHPd
    A multigenerational saga that traverses the glamour of old Hollywood and the seductive draw of modern-day showbiz

    The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes by Elissa Sloan https://amzn.to/3R2A72d
    Page-turning peek inside the glamour and brutality of life as a pop star; a wild ride through the world of music video shoots, expensive hotels, and arena tours – showing us the darkness that threatens just below the surface.” (Taylor Jenkins Reid)

    Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid https://amzn.to/480RNC5
    Is anything meant to be? How much in our life is determined by chance? And perhaps, most compellingly: Is there such a thing as a soul mate?

    Payback’s a Witch by Lana Harper (The Witches of Thistle Grove 1 of 4) https://amzn.to/46BZgqc
    Chilling Adventures of Sabrina meets The L Word in this fresh, sizzling New York Times best-selling rom-com.

    Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, 1) by Zoraida Cordova https://amzn.to/3t3DMVy
    Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives. Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation and she hates magic.

    The Breakaway: A Novel by Jennifer Weiner https://amzn.to/3R7CosR
    A warmhearted and empowering new novel about love, family, friendship, secrets, and a life-changing journey.

    The Cruel Prince (Folk of the Air #1 of 3) by Holly Black Goodreads Choice Award https://amzn.to/47wCIZbJude was seven when her parents were murdered and she was stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie.

    Demon Copperhead by Barbar Kingsolver https://amzn.to/3sTwFiq
    “Anyone will tell you the born of this world are marked from the get-out, win or lose.” Goodreads Choice Award

    The Midwife of Auschwitz by Anna Stuart https://amzn.to/3RmMCqB
    Inspired by an incredible true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s fight for love, life and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness.

    Looking for Jane by Heather Marshall https://amzn.to/415UobA
    A debut about three women whose lives are bound together by a long-lost letter, a mother’s love, and a secret network of women fighting for the right to choose—inspired by true stories in 2017, 1980, and 1971.

    The Wishing Game by Meg Shaffer https://amzn.to/3T86GhC
    But be careful what you wish for … you might just get it.

    The Lost Bookshop by Evie Woods and Evie Gaughan https://amzn.to/3RrKWMI
    The Keeper of Stories meets The Lost Apothecary in this evocative and charming novel full of mystery and secrets.

    The Square of Sevens by Laura Shepherd-Robinson https://amzn.to/4a2aGXa
    An orphaned fortune teller in 18th-century England searches for answers about her long-dead mother and uncovers shocking secrets in this immersive and atmospheric saga.

    Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes https://amzn.to/3Rro3sz
    A fresh take on the story of Medusa, the original monstered woman.


    READ AND DO NOT RECOMMEND:

    (LAURA) The Southern Book Clubs to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix https://amzn.to/481mQxO
    Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the ’90s about a women’s book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a real monster.

    (STACY) The Final Girl Support Group by Grady Hendrix goodreads choice award https://amzn.to/47FbfEN
    A fast-paced, thrilling horror novel that follows a group of heroines to die for.


    READ IN CLUB:

    Nora Goes Off Script by Annabel Monaghan https://amzn.to/3R4vQuZ award winning
    (Readers who loved Emily Henry’s Book Lovers are sure to savor.) Filled with warmth, wit, and wisdom, it is the best kind of love story—the real kind where love is complicated by work, kids, and the emotional baggage that comes with life.

    • This discussion was modified 1 month ago by  Stacy.
    Stacy replied 1 month ago 1 Member · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies